Warranty Direct Announced as the Headline Sponsor of What Car? Awards 2013 28th June, 2012

What Car? has announced that Warranty Direct will be headline sponsor of the What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2013, which will be held on January 9.  Warranty Direct will also sponsor the City Car category.

Andrew Golby, What Car? publishing director said: “We are delighted to be working with Warranty Direct, which is the industry’s leading provider of direct consumer warranties.”

The What Car? Car of the Year Awards are the most coveted accolades in the automotive industry. The Awards are presented to cars that set the highest standards in their sector after being put through the toughest, most rigorous tests by the most experienced team in the business.

The benefits of the sponsorship deal includes the alignment with the most authoritative and trusted brand in motoring, brand positioning and awareness, extensive PR opportunities, networking  and brand association to the awards via a multi-channel promotional campaign.

Duncan McClure Fisher, managing director of Warranty Direct Ltd, said: “We are looking forward to working with What Car? to help deliver the best ever What Car? Awards. A What Car? Award is essentially a huge stamp of approval that car buyers can trust. Hopefully they will be so pleased with their new car they will want to keep it and care for it with a Warranty Direct warranty when the original warranty expires.”

Andrew Golby continued: “Winning a What Car? Award is good for a car maker’s business. The authority of the What Car? brand sells cars, plain and simple. It adds power to advertising and marketing campaigns and is a huge draw for customers.”

The What Car? Car of the Year Awards event is attended by more than 1000 leading industry figureheads alongside the most influential motoring correspondents from the wider media.

The event is to be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on January 9, 2013 with top-class entertainment yet to be announced. Previous headline acts have included Jonathan Ross, Jimmy Carr, Al Murray and Jo Brand.


2012                       Volkswagen Up                                                  1994                       Peugeot 306

2011                       Audi A1                                                                 1993                       Ford Mondeo

2010                       Peugeot 3008                                                     1992                       Volkswagen Golf

2009                       Ford Fiesta 1.25i 82 Zetec 5dr                        1991                       Rover Metro

2008                       Jaguar XF 2.7D V6 Luxury                                1990                       Rover 214 Si

2007                       Vauxhall Corsa                                                   1989                       Ford Fiesta

2006                       BMW 320d                                                           1988                       BMW 735i

2005                       Land Rover Discovery                                       1987                       Renault 21 Savannah

2004                       Volkswagen Golf                                                1986                       Saab 9000 Turbo 16

2003                       Seat Ibiza                                                             1985                       Volkswagen Golf

2002                       Toyota Corolla                                                    1984                       Peugeot 205

2001                       Ford Mondeo                                                      1983                       MG Metro

2000                       Skoda Fabia                                                       1982                       Mercedes 200T

1999                       Rover 75                                                              1981                       Volkswagen Golf

1998                       Land Rover Freelander                                    1980                       Vauxhall Astra

1997                       Renault Mégane Scénic                                   1979                       Peugeot 305

1996                       Peugeot 406                                                       1978                       Renault 20

1995                       VW Polo