Slingshot Sponsorship signs Carphone Warehouse as Headline Sponsor of Award-Winning Spring Online Campaign 18th February, 2013

Digital Unite has announced that Carphone Warehouse will act as headline sponsor for Spring Online, one of the nation’s largest, annual digital inclusion campaigns which runs between April 22-26 2013.

Over 7.5million people have never used the internet, of which around 6.5 million are aged over 55 years and many more don’t have basic online skills such as searching the web and sending and receiving emails. Spring Online is an award-winning campaign that provides a unique platform to help people understand, explore and enjoy digital technology. The campaign supports people and individuals to throw open their doors and hold free digital taster events for their local communities. This year, around 2,500 Spring Online events are expected to be held across the UK helping thousands of older people and other less confident users, to take their first steps online.

Carphone Warehouse’s CEO, Andrew Harrison, said: “We are delighted to support Digital Unite’s Spring Online campaign which complements our vision to help make people’s lives better through technology. Digital exclusion is something we all should be addressing and with our presence on every high street coupled with friendly, knowledgeable store colleagues, we’re ideally placed to facilitate this leading initiative. Furthermore, this campaign compliments our other corporate responsibility activity, Tablets for Schools, and of course our own Geek Squad.”

Now in its 12th year, Digital Unite’s Spring Online campaign has been instrumental in successfully helping tens of thousands of people make digital technology a part of their everyday lives. Joyce, a previous Spring Online attendee, was moved to tears when she saw photographs online of where she used to live.  “I never knew you could see things like this on the internet, this is wonderful, coming here today was the best thing I could have done.”

The local community approach of the campaign also enables people to integrate with the resources and support closely available to them and helps to enhance the foundations of a more connected society. Carphone Warehouse’s sponsorship of the Spring Online campaign will be administered by Digital Unite’s charitable arm, the Digital Unite Trust.

Emma Solomon OBE, Founder of Digital Unite expressed: “We are absolutely thrilled to have Carphone Warehouse as our headline sponsor for Spring Online this year. Having access to digital technology and being equipped with the skills to use it, is a must-have in today’s digital society. It enables people to become more active citizens and more discerning consumers and it can also help to reduce loneliness and open new avenues to pursue hobbies and interests.

With the fantastic support of our event holders Spring Online has helped to reach tens of thousands of people from a wide cross-section of society and inspired them to make digital technology an everyday part of their lives. Having Carphone Warehouse on board with us for 2013 will undoubtedly help to extend the reach and impact of the campaign even further and we look forward to making this the best year yet.”

Warranty Direct Announced as the Headline Sponsor of What Car? Awards 2013 28th June, 2012

What Car? has announced that Warranty Direct will be headline sponsor of the What Car? Car of the Year Awards 2013, which will be held on January 9.  Warranty Direct will also sponsor the City Car category.

Andrew Golby, What Car? publishing director said: “We are delighted to be working with Warranty Direct, which is the industry’s leading provider of direct consumer warranties.”

The What Car? Car of the Year Awards are the most coveted accolades in the automotive industry. The Awards are presented to cars that set the highest standards in their sector after being put through the toughest, most rigorous tests by the most experienced team in the business.

The benefits of the sponsorship deal includes the alignment with the most authoritative and trusted brand in motoring, brand positioning and awareness, extensive PR opportunities, networking  and brand association to the awards via a multi-channel promotional campaign.

Duncan McClure Fisher, managing director of Warranty Direct Ltd, said: “We are looking forward to working with What Car? to help deliver the best ever What Car? Awards. A What Car? Award is essentially a huge stamp of approval that car buyers can trust. Hopefully they will be so pleased with their new car they will want to keep it and care for it with a Warranty Direct warranty when the original warranty expires.”

Andrew Golby continued: “Winning a What Car? Award is good for a car maker’s business. The authority of the What Car? brand sells cars, plain and simple. It adds power to advertising and marketing campaigns and is a huge draw for customers.”

The What Car? Car of the Year Awards event is attended by more than 1000 leading industry figureheads alongside the most influential motoring correspondents from the wider media.

The event is to be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London on January 9, 2013 with top-class entertainment yet to be announced. Previous headline acts have included Jonathan Ross, Jimmy Carr, Al Murray and Jo Brand.


2012                       Volkswagen Up                                                  1994                       Peugeot 306

2011                       Audi A1                                                                 1993                       Ford Mondeo

2010                       Peugeot 3008                                                     1992                       Volkswagen Golf

2009                       Ford Fiesta 1.25i 82 Zetec 5dr                        1991                       Rover Metro

2008                       Jaguar XF 2.7D V6 Luxury                                1990                       Rover 214 Si

2007                       Vauxhall Corsa                                                   1989                       Ford Fiesta

2006                       BMW 320d                                                           1988                       BMW 735i

2005                       Land Rover Discovery                                       1987                       Renault 21 Savannah

2004                       Volkswagen Golf                                                1986                       Saab 9000 Turbo 16

2003                       Seat Ibiza                                                             1985                       Volkswagen Golf

2002                       Toyota Corolla                                                    1984                       Peugeot 205

2001                       Ford Mondeo                                                      1983                       MG Metro

2000                       Skoda Fabia                                                       1982                       Mercedes 200T

1999                       Rover 75                                                              1981                       Volkswagen Golf

1998                       Land Rover Freelander                                    1980                       Vauxhall Astra

1997                       Renault Mégane Scénic                                   1979                       Peugeot 305

1996                       Peugeot 406                                                       1978                       Renault 20

1995                       VW Polo